Council Chair

Professor Dame Carrie MacEwen was appointed as Chair of Council in May 2022.

Her role as Chair is to:

  • provide leadership to the Council
  • preside over Council meetings
  • make sure we are efficient and effective
  • engage with ministers, medical profession leaders and patient groups
  • act as our ambassador.

The Chair also works closely with the Chief Executive and the Senior Management team in all aspects of the role.

Carrie is a consultant ophthalmologist for NHS Tayside and Honorary Professor at the University of Dundee. She served as Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges until 2020 and is Past-President of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists.

Carrie has served on several committees in support of education, training and assessment and NHS committees regarding service re-design for general medical services. She chairs the multi-professional subcommittee of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists and also chairs the Trustee Board of the Healthcare Quality Improvement Partnership, is a trustee of the Moorfields Eye Charity and she was a member of the council of the University of Exeter.

Carrie was specialty ophthalmology advisor to the Scottish Chief Medical Officer for over a decade and led the Scottish Eyecare Workstream, ceasing this role in June 2022. She was the clinical co-lead for the ophthalmology ‘Getting It Right First Time’ programme and the Eye Care Recovery and Transformation Programme for NHS England/Improvement.