Understanding your results

When you receive your exam results, you will also get two types of feedback: quantitative feedback and qualitative feedback.


How do examiners mark the exam?

Each station will be assessed based on your performance against the three marking domains in it:

  • Data gathering, technical and assessment skills

  • Clinical management skills

  • Interpersonal skills.

Is there a fixed pass mark for each section?

No, each station has a pass mark which uses the borderline regression scoring method. This means the pass mark varies with the difficulty of the station and for each exam.

Does the examiner know the station pass mark?

No, the examiner does not know the pass mark when assessing candidates.

Is the pass mark the same across both centres?

No, each test centre operates independently, with a different set of scenarios. The results from each centre will be generated separately, and with distinct passing criteria.

This means that candidates taking the test on the same day but at different venues will see differences in the passing criteria for that day.

How do we work out if candidates meet the required standard of the exam?

We add up the pass mark for each of the stations in the exam. We then add one standard error of measurement. This creates the total score for the exam. You must meet or exceed the total score and pass a minimum of 10 stations to achieve an overall pass.

We may change our standard setting procedures from time to time without notice. As a part of our quality assurance procedures we may also exclude individual stations from your results. When we do this, we will reduce the pass mark and the minimum number of stations needed to pass accordingly to ensure that you are not disadvantaged.

For example, if one station is excluded, results will be calculated from 15 stations only. Therefore, 9 stations would be required to pass the examination as well as meeting the pass mark.