Overseas medical qualifications we may accept

We assess these qualifications on a case by case basis against our current criteria. Please note that the criteria we use to define an acceptable overseas qualification may change. 


Medical institution 

  • Hakim Sanayee University Faculty of Medicine

  • Aureus University School of Medicine (formerly known as All Saints University of Medicine)

  • Xavier University School of Medicine 

Antigua and Barbuda

  • Metropolitan University College of Medicine


  • Army Medical College Jessore


  • Gomel State Medical University
  • Escola Superior de Ciencias da Saude
  • Tiradentes University (Faculdade Integrada Tiradentes, Universidade Tiradentes Aracaju)

Cayman Islands

  • St Matthew's University School of Medicine 


  • Hangzhou School of Medicine, Hangzhou Normal University 

  • Hebei University of Engineering School of Medicine (for those students who graduated from 2020 onwards)

  • Jinggangshan University Medical School 

  • Weifang Medical College 

  • Zhejiang University School of Medicine

  • Hainan Medical University

  • College of Basic Medical Sciences of Jilin University - also known as:
    Medical College of Jilin University
    Norman Bethune Health Science Center of Jilin University
    Norman Bethune College of Medicine, Jilin University
    Norman Bethune University of Medical Sciences
    Kirin Medical University

  • Avalon University School of Medicine


  • Alte University School of Medicine

  • Caucasus International University School of Medicine

  • European University Tbilisi (for students who began their study from 2019 onwards)

  • Georgian National University SEU Faculty of Medicine

  • Grigol Robakidze University (for all transfer students)

  • New Vision University

  • Caucasus Medicine School (for all transfer students who began their study from 2022 onwards)


  • American International School of Medicine

  • Lincoln American University School of Medicine


  • Pandit Bhagwat Dayal Sharma University of Health Sciences Rohtak - B.P.S. Government Medical College for Women 
  • Mosul University - Nineveh College of Medicine

  • Nineveh University - Nineveh College of Medicine


  • Nara Medical University

  • Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University, also known as:

    - Alma-Ata State Medical Institute
    - Alma-Ata State Medical Institute named after S.D. Asfendiyarov
    - Almaty State Medical University
    - JSC National Medical University
    - Kazakh State Medical University named after S.D. Asfendiyarov
    - Kazakh National Medical University named after S. D. Asfendiarov (KNMU)


  • Semey Medical University, also known as:

    - Semipalatinsk State Medical Academy
    - Semipalatinsk State Medical Institute
    - State Medical University Semey

  • Karaganda Medical University, also known as:

    - Karaganda State Medical Academy
    - Karaganda State Medical Institute
    - Karaganda State Medical University
  • International Kazakh-Turkish University named after Khoja Ahmet Yassawi Faculty of Medicine


  • University of Technology Mauritius Anna Medical College


  • Ondo State University of Medical Sciences


  • Privolzhsky Research Medical University (formerly known as Nizhny Novgorod State Medical Academy)

  • North-Western Medical University named after I.I. Mechnikov (formerly known as St Petersburg State Medical Academy n.a. I.I. Mechnikov, Saint Petersburg State Medical Academy and Saint Petersburg Medical Institute of Hygiene and Sanitation and Leningrad Medical Institute of Hygiene and Sanitation)

  • Ryazan State Ivan Petrovich Pavlov Medical University Medical Faculty

  • St Petersburg Pavlov State Medical University (formerly known as 1st St Petersburg IP Pavlov Medical Institute, 1st Leningrad IP Pavlov Medical Institute, St Petersburg State Medical University and Sankt-Petersburgsij Gosudarstvennij Medicinskij Universitet)

  • St Petersburg State Pediatric Medical Academy (formerly known as St Petersburg State Pediatric Medical Institute, Leningrad Red Banner of Labor Medical Pediatric Institute and Leningrad Medical Pediatric Institute)

  • Mari State University Medical Faculty


  • Oceania University of Medicine 

Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • Windsor University School of Medicine (for students who graduated on or before 30 October 2012)

  • International University of Health Sciences 

  • St Theresa’s Medical University

Saint Lucia

  • College of Medicine and Health Sciences, St Lucia

  • Destiny University School of Medicine and Health Sciences (formerly known as College of Medicine and Health Sciences) 

  • Spartan Health Sciences University (for courses commenced on or after 1 January 2009)

Saint Maarten (formerly the Netherlands Antilles)

  • American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine (for courses commenced before 1 September 2019)

  • American University of Integrative Sciences St. Maarten School of Medicine (formerly known as University of Sint Eustatius School of Medicine)

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

  • All Saints University College of Medicine

  • American University of St. Vincent School of Medicine 

  • Saint James School of Medicine

  • Richmond Gabriel University College of Medicine (formerly known as All Saints University College of Medicine)


  •  University of Nis

Sri Lanka

  • South Asian Institute of Technology and Medicine

  • Navamindradhiraj University Faculty of Medicine Vajira Hospital

  • Bozok Universitesi Tip Fakultesi

  • Koc Universitesi Tip Fakultesi (for transfer students only)


  • Kigezi International School of Medicine


  • Lugansk State Medical University located in Rivne, previously located in Rubizhne (only for students who have transferred from another medical school) 

  • South Ukrainian National Pedagogical University named after K.D. Ushynsky Faculty of Medicine

  • Kharkiv National Medical University

  • Zaporizhzhia State Medical and Pharmaceutical University

United States of America 

  • Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine

  • Touro University of California College of Osteopathic Medicine (TUCOM) (this only applies to students who graduated on or after 1 January 2010)

  • Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

What should you do if your medical school is listed?

If you are a graduate of any of the institutions on this list, and you are thinking of applying to sit the PLAB test or registering with us, please email gmc@gmc-uk.org.

You need to include your GMC reference number (if you have one) and full details of your medical school.

Why is your medical school on this list?

There are a number of reasons why we may add a medical institution to this list. For example, where we have information that:

  • the medical school offers courses that lead to qualifications that do not meet the criteria alongside some courses that do.

I am an administrator of a medical school on this list

If you are from a medical school which appears on this list, you can request a review of your institution's qualification at any time. Simply complete the medical school qualification review form and send it to us, along with any evidence, for assessment. We also have guidance to help you complete the form. If you have any queries, please contact GMCRegInvTeam@gmc-uk.org.