GMC Logo Search the register GMC Online

Health system liaison services 

Our offices in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales and our Regional Liaison Service in England work with doctors, educators, employers and other regulators to protect patients and support good medical practice.

The services help us engage at every level of our healthcare systems. This helps us make sure our approach to regulation is well informed and that it meets the changing needs of the health services of the UK.

Our advisers collaborate with doctors, educators, employers and other regulators to: 

  • improve understanding of the role and value of the GMC
  • promote and support excellence in medical education, training and practice. This includes delivering free interactive guidance workshops to over 40,000 doctors and medical students a year
  • develop policies and processes that fit the healthcare environments in which we work
  • understand, identify and address risks to patients and doctors before harm occurs. 

Who can help you in your area?

Use our map and table to see who you need to speak to.

Map of the UK showing the regional liaison service

Map number Liaison Adviser Area Email 
1 Nicola Cotter Scotland nicola.cotter@gmc-uk.org
@NicolaC07ter  LinkedIn
1 Dan Wynn Student contact for Scotland dan.wynn@gmc-uk.org 
2 Rachel Woodall North East  rachel.woodall@gmc-uk.org 
@WoodallRach  LinkedIn
3 Ian Wilson Yorkshire & Humber  ian.wilson@gmc-uk.org 
4 Darren Mercieca East Midlands  darren.mercieca@gmc-uk.org
5 Kate Lettin East of England  kate.lettin@gmc-uk.org
@KateLettin  LinkedIn
6 tbc North London guidanceworkshops@gmc-uk.org 
7 Kim Tolley South London  kim.tolley@gmc-uk.org
@KTolley1  LinkedIn
8 Howard Lewis South East  howard.lewis@gmc-uk.org 
@HowardLewis61  LinkedIn
9 tbc  Thames Valley guidanceworkshops@gmc-uk.org 
10 John Davey South West  john.davey@gmc-uk.org
@JDaveyGMC  LinkedIn
11 Rachel Ware West of England rachel.ware@gmc-uk.org 
@RachelWareGMC
12 Suzanne Gannon-Lewis Wales suzanne.gannon-lewis@gmc-uk.org 
13 Louise Robinson West Midlands louise.robinson@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn
14 tbc North West guidanceworkshops@gmc-uk.org 
15 Louise Holmes (Maternity Leave) Northern Ireland
louise.holmes@gmc-uk.org 
15 Claire Andrews (Maternity Cover) Northern Ireland  claire.andrews@gmc-uk.org 

If you're not sure who to contact, email guidanceworkshops@gmc-uk.org.