Health system liaison services 

Our offices in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales and our Regional Liaison Service in England work with doctors, educators, employers and other regulators to protect patients and support good medical practice.

The services help us engage at every level of our healthcare systems. This helps us make sure our approach to regulation is well informed and that it meets the changing needs of the health services of the UK.

Our advisers collaborate with doctors, educators, employers and other regulators to: 

  • improve understanding of the role and value of the GMC
  • promote and support excellence in medical education, training and practice. This includes delivering free interactive guidance workshops to over 40,000 doctors and medical students a year
  • develop policies and processes that fit the healthcare environments in which we work
  • understand, identify and address risks to patients and doctors before harm occurs. 

Who can help you in your area?

Use our map and table to see who you need to speak to.

Map of the UK showing the Regional Liaison Service

Map number Liaison Adviser Area Email 
1 Dan Wynn Scotland dan.wynn@gmc-uk.org 
2 Tarryn Lloyd Payne North East and Cumbria tarryn.lloydpayne@gmc-uk.org
3 Ian Wilson Yorkshire & Humber  ian.wilson@gmc-uk.org 
3 Rose Gilroy Yorkshire & Humber rose.gilroy@gmc-uk.org
4 Darren Mercieca East Midlands  darren.mercieca@gmc-uk.org
5 Kate Lettin East of England  kate.lettin@gmc-uk.org
@KateLettin  LinkedIn
Laura Harding North Central & East London laura.harding@gmc-uk.org
7 Howard Lewis South East howard.lewis@gmc-uk.org 
@HowardLewis61  LinkedIn
8 Jane MacPherson South London  jane.macpherson@gmc-uk.org
9 Emma Greening  North West London emma.greening@gmc-uk.org
10 Kelly Tully Thames Valley & Wessex kelly.tully@gmc-uk.org
11 John Davey South West  john.davey@gmc-uk.org
@JDaveyGMC  LinkedIn
12 Rachel Ware West of England rachel.ware@gmc-uk.org 
@RachelWareGMC
13 tbc Wales gmcwales@gmc-uk.org
14 Louise Robinson West Midlands louise.robinson@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn
15 Ian Jones North Wales, Cheshire & Merseyside  ian.jones@gmc-uk.org
16 Chris Lawlor North West christopher.lawlor@gmc-uk.org
17 Louise Holmes  Northern Ireland
louise.holmes@gmc-uk.org 
17 Claire Andrews  Northern Ireland  claire.andrews@gmc-uk.org 

If you're not sure who to contact, email guidanceworkshops@gmc-uk.org.

Health system liaison service leaders

Find out who can help you from our leadership team.

Ian McNeill - Head of the Regional Liaison Service (RLS) in England

You can contact Ian for inter-agency collaboration, operational intelligence sharing between regulators at a local, regional and national level, accessing RLS resources in England and understanding or influencing the work of the RLS.

Email: ian.mcneill@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn
@McNeillIan

Nicola Cotter - Head of Scotland Office

Email: nicola.cotter@gmc-uk.org

Katie Laugharne - Head of Wales Office

Email: katie.laugharne@gmc-uk.org

Jane Kennedy - Head of Northern Ireland Office

Email: jane.kennedy@gmc-uk.org

Rachel Woodall - Principal Liaison Adviser for the North of England

Regional and local organisations can contact Rachel to understand and influence our work across the North of England

Email: rachel.woodall@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn
@WoodallRach

Louise Robinson - Principal Liaison Adviser for the Midlands and East of England

Regional and local organisations can contact Louise to understand and influence our work across the Midlands and East of England

Email: louise.robinson@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn

Jo Wren - Principal Liaison Adviser for London and the South of England

Regional and local organisations can contact Jo to understand and influence our work across London and the South of England

Email: jo.wren@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn

Maria Bentley - RLS Business Development and Change Manager

Maria leads on the expansion of our Welcome to UK practice programme. You can contact Maria to find out more or get involved.

Email: maria.bentley@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn

Kim Tolley - RLS Training Development Manager

Kim leads on our work with NHS England on their International GP Recruitment Scheme. To find out more, contact Kim.

Email: kim.tolley@gmc-uk.org
LinkedIn
@KTolley1