What the assessment involves

What is the revalidation assessment?

The revalidation assessment:

  • is a written multiple choice test consisting of 120 questions
  • is paper-based (except the radiology assessment, which is computer-based)
  • lasts two hours.

What does the assessment cover?

There are 12 assessments. These are based on core competencies from the respective college curriculum, except for the foundation paper, which is based on the Foundation Programme curriculum. The assessment includes all aspects of the specialty and is designed to test minimal competence.

You should choose the assessment that most closely matches your current or most recent specialty area:

If you don't currently practise in a specialty area you should choose the foundation paper assessment. The Foundation Programme is a two-year generic training programme, which covers a broad range of medical practice and forms the bridge between medical school and specialist or general practice training.