Specialty specific guidance for Portfolio application in Gastroenterology

The Gastroenterology curriculum was published in August 2022. For a transition period, you can make a Portfolio application against the High Level Outcomes in the new curriculum or the previous version. This option is available until the transition deadline of 31 October 2024.

Specialty specific guidance

We’ve produced guidance documents for each version of the curriculum with the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board.

How to apply

You can apply through your GMC Online account. When choosing your application specialty, please make sure you choose the curriculum version you wish to be assessed against, as the application structure is tailored to the above specialty specific guidance versions.

2022 curriculum

Our standards for postgraduate medical curricula are Excellence by design and the framework for Generic professional capabilities. These help postgraduate medical training programmes focus trainee assessment away from an exhaustive list of individual competencies, towards fewer broad capabilities needed to practise safely from your first day as a consultant.

As a result, the 2022 physicianly curricula are outcomes based. This means trainees will be assessed against the fundamental capabilities required of consultants in the working week. These include the general skills which all doctors need to have as well as those needed to carry out all the specific day to day tasks undertaken by a consultant physician (Capabilities in Practice – CiPs).

The Gastroenterology curriculum is made up six Generic CiPs which are common to all physicianly specialties, eight clinical internal medicine CiPs and six Specialty CiPs unique to Gastroenterology. Applicants must also demonstrate one of two themed for service CiPs, tailored to practicing Gastroenterology in the NHS.
In demonstrating these capabilities a successful applicant will be awarded specialist registration in Gastroenterology and General (internal) medicine.

Content shared between all physicianly specialties

There are six CiPs which are shared between all physicianly specialties:

  • CiP 1 - Able to function successfully within NHS organisational and management systems
  • CiP 2 - Able to deal with ethical and legal issues related to clinical practice
  • CiP 3 - Communicates effectively and is able to share decision making, while maintaining appropriate situational awareness, professional behaviour and professional judgement
  • CiP 4 - Is focused on patient safety and delivers effective quality improvement in patient care
  • CiP 5 - Carrying out research and managing data appropriately
  • CiP 6 - Acting as a clinical teacher and clinical supervisor

Clinical internal medicine content

  • CiP 1 - Managing an acute unselected take
  • CiP 2 - Managing the acute care of patients within a medical specialty service
  • CiP 3 - Providing continuity of care to medical inpatients, including management of comorbidities and cognitive impairment
  • CiP 4 - Managing patients in an outpatient clinic, ambulatory or community setting, including management of long term conditions
  • CiP 5 - Managing medical problems in patients in other specialties and special cases
  • CiP 6 - Managing a multi-disciplinary team including effective discharge planning
  • CiP 7 - Delivering effective resuscitation and managing the acutely deteriorating patient
  • CiP 8 - Managing end of life and applying palliative care skills

Specialty specific content

  • CiP 1 - Manage care of Gastroenterology and Hepatology in-patients
  • CiP 2 - Managing care of Gastroenterology and Hepatology patients in an out-patient environment
  • CiP 3 - Managing care of patients with complex disease across multiple care settings, including interaction with primary care and community networks
  • CiP 4 - Managing care pathways for patients with suspected and confirmed gastrointestinal and hepatic malignancy
  • CiP 5 - The ability to practice diagnostic and therapeutic upper GI endoscopy and in other practical skills undertaken/overseen by a Gastroenterology Consultant
  • CiP 6 - Contributing to the prevention of gastrointestinal and liver disease

In addition one of the two themed for service specialty CiPs:

  • Themed for service Specialty CiP 1 - Managing an acute unselected take
  • Themed for service Specialty CiP 2 - Managing the acute care of patients within a medical specialty service