Specialty specific guidance for Medical Virology

The new Medical Virology curriculum was published in 2021. For a transition period, you can make a CESR application against either the new curriculum or the previous version.

This option is available until the transition deadline of 31 August 2023.

Specialty specific guidance

We’ve produced guidance documents for each version of the curriculum with the Royal College of Pathologists.

How to apply

You can apply through your GMC Online account. There is one application form which includes sections for both versions of the curricula. You should tell us which curriculum version you wish to be assessed against in sequence one. And only provide evidence in the sections of the application relevant to your curriculum.

2021 curriculum

Our standards for postgraduate medical curricula are Excellence by design and the framework for Generic professional capabilities. These help postgraduate medical training programmes focus trainee assessment away from an exhaustive list of individual competencies, towards fewer broad capabilities needed to practise safely from your first day as a consultant.

In the new Medical Virology 2021 curriculum, trainees are eligible for entry to combined infection training following satisfactory completion of post-foundation core training programmes.

CESR applicants must show equivalence to this training as well as the specialty specific elements of the Medical Virology training:

  • two years of Stage 1 Internal Medicine plus MRCP(UK)
  • Acute Care Common Stem (ACCS) plus MRCP(UK).

The Medical Virology curriculum is made up six Generic CiPs which are common to all physicianly specialties and seven Specialty CiPs unique to Medical Virology.

In Medical Virology, two years Internal Medicine Training will replace Core Medical Training as the core training programme. Applicants will be required to demonstrate maintenance of relevant Internal Medicine Stage 1 capabilities (including MRCP).

Content shared between all physicianly specialties

There are six CiPs which are shared between all physicianly specialties:

  • CiP 1 – Able to function successfully within NHS organisational and management systems
  • CiP 2 – Able to deal with ethical and legal issues related to clinical practice
  • CiP 3 – Communicates effectively and is able to share decision making, while maintaining appropriate situational awareness, professional behaviour and professional judgement
  • CiP 4 – Is focused on patient safety and delivers effective quality improvement in patient care
  • CiP 5 – Carrying out research and managing data appropriately
  • CiP 6 – Acting as a clinical teacher and clinical supervisor

Specialty specific content

There are seven CiPs which are unique to Medical Virology:

  • CiP 1 – Able to provide clinical leadership and support to the laboratory.
  • CiP 2 – Able to use the laboratory service effectively in the investigation, diagnosis and management of infection.
  • CiP 3 – Able to advise on infection prevention, control and immunisation.
  • CiP 4 – Able to manage and advise on important clinical syndromes where infection is in the differential diagnosis.
  • CiP 5 – Able to lead and advise on treatment with and stewardship of antimicrobials.
  • CiP 6 – Able to provide continuity of care to inpatients and outpatients with suspected or proven infection.
  • CiP 7 – Able to manage and advise on imported infections.

To submit your CESR application against the 2021 curriculum, it is recommended that you contact the Training Department for further advice before you complete your application.