Specialty specific guidance for CESR in Infectious Diseases

The new Infectious Diseases curriculum was published in July 2021. For a transition period, you can make a CESR application against either the new curriculum or the previous version.

This option is available until the transition deadline of 30 June 2023.

Specialty specific guidance

We’ve produced guidance documents for each version of the curriculum with the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board.

How to apply

You can apply through your GMC Online account. There is one application form which includes sections for both versions of the curricula. You should tell us which curriculum version you wish to be assessed against in sequence one. And only provide evidence in the sections of the application relevant to your curriculum.

All applications made in Infectious Diseases must also demonstrate the CiPs shared with one of the following specialties:

  • Medical Virology
  • Medical Microbiology
  • General (internal) Medicine

There will be no stand-alone CESR in Infectious Diseases. This reflects service need and mirrors the CCT curriculum.

In the application form you can choose which one of the above three specialties you will be providing evidence for. If successful in your application you will be awarded an additional CESR certificate for the above specialty you have chosen, and this specialty will be listed on your register entry.

2021 curriculum

Our standards for postgraduate medical curricula are Excellence by design and the framework for Generic professional capabilities. These help postgraduate medical training programmes focus trainee assessment away from an exhaustive list of individual competencies, towards fewer broad capabilities needed to practise safely from your first day as a consultant.

As a result, the 2021 physicianly curricula are outcomes based. This means trainees will be assessed against the fundamental capabilities required of consultants in the working week. These include the general skills which all doctors need to have as well as those needed to carry out all the specific day to day tasks undertaken by a consultant physician (Capabilities in Practice – CiPs).

The Infectious Diseases curriculum is made up six Generic CiPs which are common to all physicianly specialties and seven Specialty CiPs unique to Infectious Diseases.

In Infectious Diseases, two years Internal Medicine Training will replace Core Medical Training as the core training programme. Applicants will be required to demonstrate maintenance of relevant Internal Medicine Stage 1 capabilities (including MRCP).

Applying for Infectious Diseases with Medical Virology/Medical Microbiology

You will need to provide evidence for:

  • Six Generic CiPs which are common to all physicianly specialties
  • Seven Specialty CiPs for Infectious Diseases with Medical Virology/Medical Microbiology

Please note that whilst the CiPs are the same for Medical Virology and Medical Microbiology there is a separate syllabus for each specialty which sets out the clinical context in which they demonstrate the CiPs. You will need to refer to the syllabus in the curriculum for either Medical Virology or Medical Microbiology when collating your evidence.

Applying for Infectious Diseases with General (internal) Medicine

You will need to provide evidence for:

  • Six Generic CiPs which are common to all physicianly specialties
  • Seven Specialty CiPs for Infectious Diseases
  • Eight Specialty CiPs for Infectious Diseases with General (internal) Medicine

Content shared between all physicianly specialties

There are six CiPs which are shared between all physicianly specialties:

  • CiP 1 - Able to function successfully within NHS organisational and management systems
  • CiP 2 - Able to deal with ethical and legal issues related to clinical practice
  • CiP 3 - Communicates effectively and is able to share decision making, while maintaining appropriate situational awareness, professional behaviour and professional judgement
  • CiP 4 - Is focused on patient safety and delivers effective quality improvement in patient care
  • CiP 5 - Carrying out research and managing data appropriately
  • CiP 6 - Acting as a clinical teacher and clinical supervisor

Specialty specific content

Applying for Infectious Diseases with Medical Virology/Medical Microbiology

There are seven specialty CiPs for Infectious Diseases which are shared with Medical Virology and Medical Microbiology:

  • CiP 1 - Able to provide clinical leadership and support to the laboratory
  • CiP 2 - Able to use the laboratory service effectively in the investigation, diagnosis and management of infection
  • CiP 3 - Able to advise on infection prevention, control and immunisation
  • CiP 4 - Able to manage and advise on important clinical syndromes where infection is in the differential diagnosis
  • CiP 5 - Able to lead and advise on treatment with and stewardship of antimicrobials
  • CiP 6 - Providing continuity of care to inpatients and outpatients with suspected or proven infection
  • CiP 7 - Able to manage and advise on imported infections 

Applying for Infectious Diseases with General (internal) Medicine

The eight clinical CiPs are shared with General (internal) Medicine are:

  • CiP 1 - Managing an acute unselected take
  • CiP 2 - Managing the acute care of patients within a medical specialty service
  • CiP 3 - Providing continuity of care to medical inpatients, including management of comorbidities and cognitive impairment
  • CiP 4 - Managing patients in an outpatient clinic, ambulatory or community setting, including management of long term conditions
  • CiP 5 - Managing medical problems in patients in other specialties and special cases
  • CiP 6 - Managing a multi-disciplinary team including effective discharge planning
  • CiP 7 - Delivering effective resuscitation and managing the acutely deteriorating patient
  • CiP 8 - Managing end of life and applying palliative care skills

Changes in assessment tools

No changes to assessment tools.