Specialty specific changes for CESR in General Internal Medicine (GIM)

An application has been made to change the specialty name to Internal Medicine (Stage 2)

The General Internal Medicine curriculum was published in June 2022. For a transition period, you can make a CESR application against either the new curriculum or the previous version. This option is available until the transition deadline of 31 May 2023.

Specialty specific guidance

We’ve produced guidance documents for each version of the curriculum with the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board.

How to apply

You can apply through your GMC Online account. There is one application form which includes sections for both versions of the curricula. You should tell us which curriculum version you wish to be assessed against in sequence one. And only provide evidence in the sections of the application relevant to your curriculum.

2022 curriculum

Our standards for postgraduate medical curricula are Excellence by Design and the framework for Generic Professional Capabilities. These help postgraduate medical training programmes focus trainee assessment away from an exhaustive list of individual competencies, towards fewer broad capabilities needed to practise safely from your first day as a consultant.

As a result, the 2022 physicianly curricula are outcomes-based. This means trainees will be assessed against the fundamental capabilities required of consultants in the working week. These include the general skills which all doctors need to have as well as those needed to carry out all the specific day to day tasks undertaken by a consultant physician (Capabilities in Practice – CiPs).

The General Internal Medicine curriculum is made up of six Generic CiPs which are common to all physicianly specialties and eight clinical internal medicine CiPs.

Completion of three years Internal Medicine Training replaces Core Medical Training as the core training programme.

Content shared between all physicianly specialties

There are six CiPs which are shared between all physicianly specialties:

  • CiP 1 - Able to function successfully within NHS organisational and management systems
  • CiP 2 - Able to deal with ethical and legal issues related to clinical practice
  • CiP 3 - Communicates effectively and is able to share decision making, while maintaining appropriate situational awareness, professional behaviour and professional judgement
  • CiP 4 - Is focused on patient safety and delivers effective quality improvement in patient care
  • CiP 5 - Carrying out research and managing data appropriately
  • CiP 6 - Acting as a clinical teacher and clinical supervisor.

Clinical internal medicine content

  • CiP 1 - Managing an acute unselected take
  • CiP 2 - Managing the acute care of patients within a medical specialty service
  • CiP 3 - Providing continuity of care to medical inpatients, including management of comorbidities and cognitive impairment
  • CiP 4 - Managing patients in an outpatient clinic, ambulatory or community setting, including management of long-term conditions
  • CiP 5 - Managing medical problems in patients in other specialties and special cases
  • CiP 6 - Managing multidisciplinary team including effective discharge planning
  • CiP 7 - Delivering effective resuscitation and managing the acutely deteriorating patient
  • CiP 8 - Managing end of life and applying palliative care skills.

Changes in assessment tools

There has been no change to the workplace based assessment methodology.

Changes in knowledge and skills

There are no changes to the knowledge and skills required.