Specialty specific guidance for CESR in Rehabilitation Medicine

The new Rehabilitation Medicine curriculum was published in April 2021. Due to the significant changes that are being made to the curriculum we will be offering applicants the opportunity to make your CESR application in either the new curriculum or the previous version of the curriculum. This option of dual running of curricula will be available until 30 April 2023 to reflect the transition period applied to CCT trainees.

Specialty Specific Guidance

The Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board and GMC have produced guidance documents for each version of the curriculum.

How to apply

You can apply through your GMC online account. There is one application form which includes sections for both versions of the curricula. You should declare which curriculum version you wish to be assessed against in sequence one and only provide evidence in the sections of the application relevant to your curriculum.

2021 Curriculum

The GMC designed its new standards for postgraduate medical curricula Excellence by Design and its framework for Generic Professional Capabilities, published in May 2017, to help postgraduate medical training programmes re-focus trainee assessment away from an exhaustive list of individual competencies, towards fewer broad capabilities required to practice safely as a day-one consultant.

As a result, the 2021 physicianly curricula are outcomes-based, meaning that trainees will be assessed against the fundamental capabilities required of consultants in the working week. These include the general skills which all doctors need to have (the GMC’s Generic Professional Capabilities) as well as those needed to carry out all the specific day to day tasks undertaken by a consultant physician (Capabilities in Practice – CiPs).

The Rehabilitation Medicine curriculum is made up of 14 CiPs. Six Generic CiPs which are common to all physician specialties and eight Specialty CiPs unique to Rehabilitation Medicine.

In Rehabilitation Medicine two years Internal Medicine Training will replace Core Medical Training as the core training programme. Applicants will be required to demonstrate maintenance of relevant Internal Medicine Stage 1 capabilities.

Content shared between all physicianly specialties

There are six CiPs which are shared between all physicianly specialties:

  • CiP 1 - Able to function successfully within NHS organisational and management systems

  • CiP 2 - Able to deal with ethical and legal issues related to clinical practice

  • CiP 3 - Communicates effectively and is able to share decision making, while maintaining appropriate situational awareness, professional behaviour and professional judgement

  • CiP 4 - Is focused on patient safety and delivers effective quality improvement in patient care

  • CiP 5 - Carrying out research and managing data appropriately

  • CiP 6 - Acting as a clinical teacher and clinical supervisor

Specialty Specific Content

The Rehabilitation Medicine capabilities in practice (CiPs) describe the professional tasks or work within the scope of the specialty.

  • CiP 1 - Able to formulate a full rehabilitation analysis of any clinical problem presented, to include both disease-related and disability-related factors

  • CiP 2 - Able to set out a rehabilitation plan for any new patient seen with any disability, this plan extending beyond the consultant’s own specific service

  • CiP 3 - Able to work as a full and equal member of any multi-disciplinary rehabilitation team

  • CiP 4 - Able to identify and set priorities within a rehabilitation plan

  • CiP 5 - Able to diagnose and manage existing and new medical problems in a rehabilitation context

  • CiP 6 - Able to recognise need for and to deliver successfully specific medical rehabilitation treatments

  • CiP 7 - Able to work in any setting, across organisational boundaries and in close collaboration with other specialist teams

  • CiP 8 - Able to make and justify decisions in the face of the many clinical, socio-cultural, prognostic, ethical, and legal uncertainties and influences that arise in complex cases

Changes in knowledge and skills

Applicants with core training and the relevant examinations in paediatrics, surgery, anaesthetics, psychiatry, obstetrics and gynaecology, ophthalmology or general practice training are now eligible to apply for higher specialty training in Rehabilitation Medicine. The examinations that can be accepted in addition to MRCP(UK) are MRCPCH, MRCS, MRCGP, FRCA, MRCPsych, FRCOphth and MRCOG.

There is a new focus on core rehabilitation knowledge and skills and experience in a greater range of settings (such as community, nursing homes, day hospitals and acute hospitals).