We have powers to

  • recognise new sub-specialties and
  • decommission sub-specialties which are no longer required.

Our guidance (pdf) covers the recognition and decommission of new sub-specialty curricula and assessment systems and training programmes.

What are sub-specialties?

These are sub-specialties of main specialties. The latter lead to the award of a Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT).

To set this in context, a doctor can have sub-specialty training indicated against his/her name in the Specialist Register along with the main CCT specialty if he/she satisfies the GMC that he/she has satisfactorily completed sub-specialty training approved by the GMC.

View the list of approved specialty and sub-specialty curricula that lead to the award of a CCT.

Recognition of new sub-specialties

Currently, the recognition of new sub-specialties is suspended. 

However, if a sub-specialty currently recognised by the GMC is no longer required, the relevant medical Royal College or Faculty can apply to us to decommission the sub-specialty and so remove it from the recognised list.

The guidance above specifies the steps which must be taken before decommission can be approved.

Position paper

After consultation with key interest groups, we have now published a position paper on Improving the National Consistency and Approval of Sub-Specialty Training Programmes.