GMC Logo Search the register GMC Online
  1. Home
  2. About
  3. How we work
  4. Governance
  5. Council
  6. Council members

Council members

Who sits on the Council?

Council is currently made up of six medical professionals and six lay (non-medical) members. There is currently a vacancy on Council and an appointment process is expected to commence in 2018.

  • Professor Sir Terence Stephenson (GMC Ref No: 2843258): Chair of Council and registrant member, England
  • Mr Steven Burnett: Lay member, Wales
  • Dr Shree Datta (GMC Ref No: 6076715): Registrant member, England
  • Lady Christine Eames: Lay member, Northern Ireland.
  • Professor Anthony Harnden (GMC Ref No: 2807869): Registrant member, England
  • Baroness Helene Hayman: Lay member, England
  • Professor Deirdre Kelly (GMC Ref No: 2598565): Registrant member, England
  • Professor Paul Knight OBE (GMC Ref No: 2343239): Registrant member, Scotland
  • Dame Suzi Leather: Lay member, England
  • Dame Denise Platt DBE: Lay member, England
  • Miss Amerdeep Somal: Lay member, England 

Read the profiles of our Council members.